Lord Elgin Hotel Downtown Ottawa

100 Elgin Street, Ottawa, ON K1P 5K8
Tel: (613) 235-3333 Toll Free: 1-800-267-4298

Book Your Stay






special rates

(proof of eligibility required at check-in)






Best Rate Guarantee

Trip Advisor Reviews Lord Elgin OttawaTestimonials

Trip Advisor Reviews

On-Site Guest Comments

We’d love to hear from you: send us your feedback.

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Mary Truemner - December 6, 2013

This lovely, historic hotel is both grand and charming. The staff members are all upbeat and helpful. I felt welcomed and pampered. Excellent beds, large windows in new wing overlooking the park, and a decent lap pool. It has all the amenities plus it is central so there is no need to have a car, but valet parking is available. I highly recommend it, especially given that it provides much better value than its ostentatious neighbour, the Chateau Laurier.

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Don Kunze - June 29, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Lord Elgin this past week. It was my second, her first. The facilities are well kept and comfortable. I don't like glitzy lobbies, and the LE has just enough formal friendliness. The big asset of the hotel is, however, its staff, who manage to keep the right tone of reserve and friendliness throughout. From housekeeping to valet parking to the restaurant to the front desk, all LE employees are models of providing just the right service. Considering the great variety of guests and challenges a large hotel must face, this is extraordinary. One hopes they are paid well, for they make staying at LE much more attractive than at a more "modern" boutique-style hotel. This is not to say that the LE is not modern. It is modern enough and the rooms are very up to date, but "boutique" is to be avoided in certain regards, if it becomes needless excess. The perfect hotel must look as if it has been there for some time, and the family-founded history of the LE provides the perfect foundation.

Continue to invest in your staff. They are evidence that you have struck the right balance.

5 out of 5 stars
Reviewer: Luana - March 18, 2013

Hello!
My fiance and I just recently stayed at Lord Elgin over the course of 2 nights. I don't normally leave a review or comment, but I felt it necessary to send an email to commend your hotel and staff on such a fabulous stay!! We were both very pleased with the service and accommodations. We stayed in the Executive King suite and the room was exceptionally clean and provided us with all of our needs to make our stay pleasant. The staff can't be praised enough!!!!!.......from the staff at the front Desk.....to the valet attendant.....to houskeeping.....everyone was friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure a restful and enjoyable stay!

This was my first visit to Ottawa, and I will definitely be back!!.....and likely to stay at the Lord Elgin again. I have already recommended your hotel to other family and friends. Aside from the great location, it has so much to offer.

I thank you once again for making our stay such a pleasant one...

Luana

5 out of 5 stars

Staying at the Lord Elgin was truly a pleasure

Reviewer: Janet - September 10, 2012

It was truly a pleasure staying at your hotel, The Lord Elgin. Everyone was so very helpful and the accommodations were excellent. My son Reggie and his new bride Lydia were sooooo surprised to receive the Champagne and Chocolate Strawberries from the Hotel. It really made their romantic evening just perfect. So THANK YOU, Lavern and the staff at Lord Elgin for making this an Unforgettable Day and Weekend for all of us. And by all means we will definitely return to OTTAWA and your Hotel will be our chosen place to stay.

5 out of 5 stars

We had a terrific stay at the Lord Elgin

Reviewer: Sharon - August 28, 2012

We had a terrific stay with you!! First, thank you for agreeing to extend the validity period of our gift certificate – I purchased it last autumn when it was a featured item at a charity auction. I had lost sight of it for a couple of months and, to my disappointment, when I searched for it with the intention of booking a weekend stay this summer, I found that it had expired a few weeks earlier. You didn’t have to honour the expired certificate, but you did, and for that I am grateful.

Second, thank you for the lovely room with the view overlooking Confederation Park. With all of the goings-on in downtown Ottawa last weekend, it was nice to be able to look over it all. Third, thank you for the service. We made several calls to guest services and always received friendly and prompt assistance. The breakfast buffet provided a lot of variety and was presented in an appealing way. Finally, thank you for making this occasion a very special one. We will remember it very fondly and won’t hesitate to share our recommendation with others.

5 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Choice

Reviewers: Debbie and Peter - August 22, 2012

We were in Ottawa last weekend to attend a wedding. The hotel was chosen by the wedding party and was the perfect choice. We were walking distance to the Byward market, the Notre Dame Cathedral (for the ceremony) and a short taxi ride away from the reception venue.

The front desk attendant was very helpful in giving us a map with all of the places we needed clearly marked.

A great stay, thank you.

5 out of 5 stars

Lord Elgin is our hotel of choice in Ottawa

Reviewer: Natasha - August 7, 2012

We had the treat of stay at the Lord Elgin in the past, it's our hotel of choice in Ottawa. Staff is very friendly and happy to help if your ever in need. We always leave with a smile!

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful stay at the Lord Elgin

Reviewers: Ajay & Allison - October 24, 2011

Just wanted to say thank you again for a wonderful stay at the Lord Elgin. All of our guests were raving about the food, the rooms and the exceptional service we and all of our guests got during the weekend. It really made our wedding that much easier and memorable for all of us.

I also wanted to say a special thanks to the bell boys and the valet parking team…we were just outside the front doors when the Ottawa Zombie Walk happened to come by. Literally hundreds of blood covered zombies walked by and a lot of them decided to interrupt our photo session, getting uncomfortably close to Allison with their blood covered hands. Things were about to get out of hand when the bell staff made a physical barrier with their own bodies to help us continue our photo session. We are very grateful to them for that. I didn’t get their names, but it was around 3:00pm-4:00pm on Saturday if that helps identify them. Please pass on our thank you to them if you get a chance.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

5 out of 5 stars

Courteous and attentive staff at Lord Elgin

Reviewer: Bob - October 18, 2011

I have been staying at the Lord Elgin for 10 plus years. My stays at the ‘Elgin’ have been for both business and pleasure. I cannot express how much I enjoy my stays at your hotel. I would like you and your staff to know that it is you and your efforts that make the difference.

When I first started visiting Ottawa I stayed in a number of the other hotels. After a short time I quickly realized that there was only one place to stay when one is in Ottawa. In my opinion there is absolutely no other hotel to stay in Ottawa but the Lord Elgin. From the great rooms and wonderful staff to the amenities within the hotel, I cannot imagine another hotel that I would want to stay in. (Not to mention the location.)

The staffs at the ‘Elgin’ are courteous and attentive to my needs and are there whenever I need them. Your rooms are well appointed, clean and quiet.

Each and every time I book a room the staff is attentive to all of my needs. Because of that when I am in Ottawa, regardless of where the event is being held, there is no doubt where I will be staying. The Lord Elgin is my ‘Hotel of Choice’ in Ottawa. I recommend it to all my friends and family.

5 out of 5 stars

Another great stay at the Lord Elgin

Reviewer: David - August 29, 2011

What another great stay we had at the Lord Elgin.

Your staff is the best, we find them polite, efficient and always answer our questions on directions or restaurants to try.

A special thanks to your car valet crew they had our car at the front door promptly, a good bunch of guys.

Thank you again and we look forward to our next visit to the Lord Elgin.

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed our stay at the Lord Elgin

Reviewers: Keith and Anne - August 3, 2011

Both my wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Lord Elgin, and plan on staying there again when we return to Ottawa in the future. We were both impressed on how everyone we met, from hotel staff to the tour guides and restaurant staff were so friendly and knowledgeable. Ottawa is our capitol city and everyone there deserves a reward on making it a wonderful and enjoyable experience not just for the tourists, but any and all that come there for business or official government duties.

Thank you Lord Elgin and the City of Ottawa for a memorable time

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful experience

Reviewer: - August 2, 2011

I just wanted to say how wonderful Laverne has been to deal with. I booked a room for my parents anniversary and had a simple request which was anything that could be done to make my parents stay more enjoyable would be most appreciated. She did…what a wonderful experience it was for my parents and just something so small, made such a huge difference. It is people like Laverne who make people like me want to refer your hotel.

Thank you again to Laverne!!!!

5 out of 5 stars

Could not have asked for more

Reviewers: Carrie & Maurice - February 10, 2011

I wanted to express my sincere thanks to you and to the entire hotel staff that worked with our group. The rooms were fabulous, everyone we dealt with (from making the arrangements for the group with Catlin all the way to when we had to ask the front desk for an extension cord) were polite and accommodating and just generally awesome to work with, and our group really had an amazing time at the hotel. On Saturday the front desk even extended my room check out to 4:00pm when we started running late with all the Winterlude festivities and crowd affected our mobility around Elgin Street. :) I mean we quite literally could not have asked for more.

5 out of 5 stars

Server Tammy was absolutley AMAZING

Reviewer: Judy - January 13, 2011

I stayed at your hotel from Jan 9-12 2011. I was there on business. I ate in the dining room everyday for breakfast. I just wanted to let you know that our server Tammy was absolutley AMAZING. The food was very good, but the reason I ate there every morning was because of her. She is so pleasant and helpful. If she ever moved to NS I told her I would hire her in a heart beat.

I would also like to say that on Sun Jan 9th when we checked in at 4pm the front desk guy was wonderful. He made us feel very welcomed.

5 out of 5 stars

Lord Elgin was the highlight of my trip to Ottawa

Reviewer: Rob S. - September 10, 2010

Last week I the pleasure of staying at the Lord Elgin Hotel. Having lived in Ottawa many years ago, I knew of the hotel’s great reputation and took this opportunity for my first stay. Having driven 12 hours to reach Ottawa, upon arriving at your hotel I was warmly welcomed by the Concierge Chris, who quickly put me at ease. He found a wonderful room for me and also provided a fantastic seafood restaurant recommendation as well as helpful information about traffic patterns for the next morning.

My trip was brief, and the stay at the Lord Elgin quickly became the highlight! Thank you!

5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Lord Elgin

Reviewer: Michelle M. - August 30, 2010

Just a brief note to let you know that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay last week at the Lord Elgin. I found the service provided by the front desk staff was excellent – in particular Andrew – and I think Amanda – but when I checked in early on August 25th – both staff were very friendly and accommodating. The friendly service continued for the duration of my stay.

Thank You, I plan to return to your property in the future.

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful stay at the Lord Elgin hotel

Reviewers: Ian & Margaret - August 21, 2010

Just had a wonderful stay at your hotel. Everything was perfect, congratulations to you and all your staff. Room was kept spotless and what a fantastic view, overlooking park. Hopefully we will be visiting Ottawa again and would not hesitate to book back into your hotel and will certainly recommend it to anyone. Thank you.

5 out of 5 stars

Always enjoyed the service, our rooms and the staff at the Lord Elgin

Reviewers: Linda & Phil - July 22, 2010

It is with great pleasure that I tell you this little story about two of your employees. My husband and I stayed at your hotel on the 9th and 10 of July 2010, we have often stayed there and always enjoyed the service, our rooms and the staff. On the 10th of July the hotel was very busy with many guests arriving and weddings being held. The lobby was overflowing with check in's, the driveway full of cars many of them just left there by rude drivers. Rebecca and Brigette were most helpfull and remained calm and cheerful when dealing with often irate and rude people. Both our key cards became demagnatized and Brigette was so kind to issue us new ones. You can imagine our surprise when upon returning later in the evening she remembered our names and joked with us because we had managed to demagnatize our cards once again.

Our son attends school in Ottawa and has recently moved onto a street just off Elgin, my husband calls the Lord Elgin our home away from home. I personally like the fact that my home away from home has room service. We are heading to our second home once again on Sunday night and just reserved with an extremely efficient resevation agent.

All this to say, congratulations on a well run establishment and please realize that your greatest asset is your employees, treat them well and I am sure you will have loyal, long term assets.

5 out of 5 stars

Our parents spent their honeymoon at the Lord Elgin & came back to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary!

Reviewers: Kathy and Joanne - July 17, 2010

Thank you SO So much for extending my parents such hospitality on their anniversary. The roses, champagne, flowers were all so wonderful. My Mom was extremely happy!!

Mom and Dad had a lovely time and our sincere thanks for the treats you had for them! They were really touched. They really enjoyed seeing the Lord Elgin after 60 years and although modernized they were glad to see that the character of the older hotel has been maintained.....very elegant and stately! All of the hotel staff were helpful and friendly and it really couldn't have been a nicer visit. The breakfast buffet was delicious and our server was delightful!

We are hoping to make it an annual visit so see you on the 61st!

5 out of 5 stars

Great accommodation, food service and attentive staff

Reviewer: Nancy E. - July 17, 2010

My husband and I want to let you know that we appreciated the accommodation, the food service and the attentive staff of your hotel. We, with our two granddaughters, were guests at your hotel this past week (July 11- 14) and felt that we wanted to let you know how satisfied we were.

5 out of 5 stars

Great stay, great location

Reviewer: R. - June 28, 2010

Great stay for the price point. Great location. Really enjoyed the room (Park View) and amenities.

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable stay (again) at the Lord Elgin Hotel

Reviewer: - June 9, 2009

Just wanted to say how enjoyable (again) it was to stay at your hotel. Was there earlier in the year - helpful and knowledgeable staff. This time two other colleagues also stayed at the hotel on my recommendation and both found it great too.

While there I needed to access the helpdesk of Guest-tek for some internet problems (was my computer) - they were also very helpful. Thanks again - would definitely return.

5 out of 5 stars

Recommend the Lord Elgin for meetings large and small

Reviewer: Lynn N. - April 27, 2009

Jessica, Let me add my thanks to you and your team for everything everyone did last week to help our meeting go smoothly. It was a big success and all the food, admin support, and technology were perfect. The staff were all very responsive and pleasant to work with. I will definitely recommend the Lord Elgin to others for meetings large and small.

5 out of 5 stars

Staff at the Lord Elgin are wonderful

Reviewer: Nicola - April 22, 2009

I have just returned from a weekend in Ottawa and I stayed in your hotel for 2 nights. I would like to say that the staff at your hotel are wonderful. The valets were extremely polite and helpful throughout our stay. Thank-you for helping to make our experience a memorable one!

5 out of 5 stars

Location and facility top notch

Reviewer: Kathy - April 20, 2009

Just wanted to say that I was at your hotel on the weekend, and it was a pleasure to stay there. Your staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous, and the location & facility was top notch. Will definitely recommend this to anyone heading to Ottawa. Thank you!

5 out of 5 stars

Visiting Ottawa and staying at the Lord Elgin go ‘hand in hand’

Reviewer: Jack - April 15, 2009

Our recent annual visit to Ottawa was again an enjoyable few days. Over the years it has proved that visiting Ottawa and staying at the Lord Elgin go ‘hand in hand’. Your staff have always been courteous, efficient,polite and friendly,offering advice and local knowledge where needed. A special thanks to Karin on Reception who assisted in meeting our accomodation requirements and Tammy in the Restaurant who over the years has always greeted with a smile and exemplary service. My thanks to you all.

5 out of 5 stars

A pleasure to work with

Reviewer: Jennifer - March 24, 2009

I want to say a huge thank you to you for everything you did for our event! You were so patient with all of my changes, accommodating with all of my requests, and simply a pleasure to work with. Dealing with you and your hotel was a breath of fresh air. Also, the guests enjoyed their stay very much. A couple of them particularly appreciated-and I was jealous of-the Starbucks delivery to their rooms.

5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for making me feel like a Queen

Reviewer: D. - December 26, 2008

The Lord Elgin Hotel should be awarded for helping people like me with lower rates for the rooms during the O.C Bus Strike. I would have lost my job for not reporting for work on time. It is 5 minutes walk to D.N.D. on the MacKezie Bridge. If the O.C. Strike doesn’t end soon, you could see me again next week. Thank you for making me feel like a Queen.

5 out of 5 stars

Recommend the Lord Elgin for meetings

Reviewer: Kimberly G. - December 12, 2008

I would like to take this opportunity to say that it was an absolute pleasure to work with Amanada Craig, she was extremely helpful, and extremely patience with the amount of changes we made to everything. It was her winning personality and professionalism that would make me highly recommend using Lord Elgin in the future along with recommending it to others. Thank you again Amanda for all help.

5 out of 5 stars

Look forward to staying at the Lord Elgin again

Reviewers: Anita and Chuck - December 6, 2008

I had intended to fill out an evaluation prior to our checkout, but in the shuffle, I forgot. My husband and I enjoyed a most wonderful 4-night stay with you Nov. 28 to Dec. 2. It was a combination work (for my husband) and play (for me) stay. We had stayed with you previously but it had been a few years ago. We were extremely happy and satisfied with all aspects of our stay. Our only complaint was noisy neighbors who came to their room and talked, laughed and made lots of noise in the hallway at 2 am on the first night. Other than that we were extremely happy with everything else.

Our room was fabulous, the housekeeping service very good and non-intrusive (including a request for an additional blanket and more Coffeemate packets for our room), the location is first rate for business appointments and visiting the sights and shopping. Everyone we had contact with was extremely friendly and helpful. We certainly would not hesitate to recommend your hotel to anyone coming to Ottawa. I especially enjoyed the access to the business centre off the lobby to check on e-mail and how things were going back home in Saskatoon. We had a lovely lunch in your dining room also. All in all I would give you a 5 out of 5 and really look forward to staying with you again should we be returning to Ottawa. Happy Holidays to all your staff.

5 out of 5 stars

Lord Elgin is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in

Reviewers: Randall and Linda - August 19, 2008

I would like to thank you and your staff for a job well done. My wife and I were on vacation celebrating our 25th anniversary by traveling to several venues in Ontario. I was pleasantly surprised by the front desk who had upgraded our room. Your kind offer to upgrade our room to the Penthouse Suite was very well appreciated as this really put ‘the feather in the cap’ for our vacation.

Your hotel is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for sometime. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean, well laid out, and in a great location. I truly have no suggestions for such an outstanding hotel. We intend to return in the future to stay again, hopefully for a few nights. I will recommend the Lord Elgin Hotel to all I know who are headed to Ottawa. Again, thank you for making our 25th anniversary a memorable occasion.

5 out of 5 stars

Great and efficient service at Lord Elgin

Reviewer: Tim R. - June 23, 2008

I wanted to personally thank you for my group’s visit to the Lord Elgin on June 11. We stay in nine different hotels on our trip to the East Coast/Canada and by far your hotel is the most efficient. The bellmen are ‘on top’ of the luggage, often getting the bags to the rooms before the people. They do an exemplary job. Meeting with Erin directly upon arrival to go over the rooming list, wake-up calls, departure information and the like is so much better than having to deal with the front desk as I do in all of the other eight hotels. Thanks too for the coupon to Starbucks. I always make good use of it.

5 out of 5 stars

Pleasure to work with

Reviewer: Susan B. - June 4, 2008

It was an absolute pleasure working with Jessica Paul! She encompasses professionalism, approachability, kindness and class. A definite asset to the Lord Elgin Hotel and a delight to work with. Thank you.

5 out of 5 stars

Look forward to my next stay at the Lord Elgin

Reviewer: Murray S. - May 21, 2008

We were pleased with our rooms (especially those of us who had king beds) and appreciated that, for the most part, you met our requests (not all rooms had mini-fridges). Your website is easy to use and your quick on-line confirmation of reservations is a great feature. Also, I appreciated receiving your e-mails a few days before check-in asking for additional requests and your prompt replies.

The service at reception, concierge and valet parking were very, very good. It is a (rare) pleasure to see such cheerful, friendly service.

This was my second stay at the Lord Elgin, and I look forward to returning next time I am in Ottawa. Many thanks.